Meet the 9 South Florida State Farm Teacher Assist Grant Winners


Teachers in Florida were asked to submit their innovative teaching ideas the week of January 11 for an opportunity to win State Farm ® Teacher Assist grants. In less than 2 hours, two hundred entry forms were submitted by Florida teachers!

We have 9 winning teachers in Miami-Dade and Broward County out of 200 entries submitted! Three of the teachers are from one school, McNicol Middle School. Here is the list of South Florida teachers that won a $2,500 grant that will help bring their ideas to life.  


1)     Astrid Vargas: Miami Northwestern Senior High in Miami

2)     Allison Unger-Fink: Hawkes Bluff Elementary in Davie

3)     Tanji Ford: Silver Ridge Elementary in Davie

4)     Latisa Williams: Olsen Elementary School in Dania Beach

5)     Robert W Bailey: South Plantation High

6)     Charlene Franklin: McNicol Middle School in Hollywood

7)     Betty Shore: McNicol Middle School

8)     Raquel McDonald: McNicol Middle School

9)     Barbara Dioner: Ramblewood Middle School in Coral Springs


State Farm is proud to award $100,000 to teachers across Florida. Forty teachers will each receive a $2,500 grant to implement or support their classroom projects. For a complete list of winners, visit the State Farm ® Teacher Assist website.

Nationwide, State Farm is awarding $500,000 in grants to teachers. Two hundred teachers, 40 each in Florida, California, Michigan, New York and Texas will each be receiving $2,500 State Farm® Teacher Assist grants. The money will help them meet the challenges of teaching during the pandemic.

“As a company, we have a long history of working with teachers, educators, and students across the country. We are heartened by the immense response received from teachers sharing their solutions to overcoming challenges,” said Annette Martinez, State Farm Senior Vice President. “Congratulations to the winners. We are proud to support you and help you reach your goals!”

About Comunicados


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *